​Scholarship aid that is offered by Ohio State is automatically accepted for you. Each scholarship may have differing eligibility and renewal requirements.​

Eligibility requirements:

As a merit scholarship recipient, it is your responsibility to know and understand the following eligibility requirements:

  1. ​You must be enrolled full-time at Ohio State.

  2. You must be pursuing your first undergraduate degree.

  3. You must maintain the minimum GPA requirement by the time of evaluation (see table below).

  4. If you meet the minimum GPA requirement by the time of evaluation, your scholarship will be renewed automatically for up to eight semesters.


  5. Other eligibility requirements may exist for specific programs and will be communicated to you.

Note: University-administered scholarships are awarded to new, incoming freshman as part of the admissions process. Attending another institution may cause a student to forfeit an Ohio State scholarship. If you have questions regarding your eligibility for your​ scholarship after attending another institution, please contact Buckeye Link at 614-292-0300 or buckeyelink@osu.edu​.

Scholarship eligibility and renewal requirements​

Scholarships (Maximum eligibility: 8 semesters) Minimum 
Academic Achievement**3.2
National Buckeye2.5
Distinction (MSP)3.2 
Prominence (MSP)3.0 
Excellence (MSP)3.0 
Land Grant3.0
* Measured at the end of the second year and annually thereafter 

Most special-eligibility ​scholarships can only be awarded if students identify themselves to Student Financial Aid as being eligible each year by completing the Special Scholarship Application.​

** Not offered to students enrolling after 2016